Specialties: Cancer Research, Biotechnology Consulting, Company Start-ups, Research Strategy, Research Organization, Career Mentoring.

Dr. Bruce Zetter is the Charles Nowiszewski Professor of Cancer Biology at Harvard Medical School in Boston, MA. Dr. Zetter is highly regarded as an international leader in cancer research and as an advisor to the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industry. 

Dr. Zetter’s research is focused on extending the lives of cancer patients, especially those with late-stage, life-threatening cancers.  He has devoted his scientific career to study how cancer evolves, spreads and causes patient harm. His work has revealed new biomarkers to predict cancer outcome and new treatments for late-stage cancers.

Frequently sought as an advisor on science and business practice to industry executives and scientists, Dr.Zetter has served as consultant or scientific advisory board member to more than 30 biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies and also serves as an advisor to venture firms and investment firms. In addition, he is often called on as an expert witness in court cases involving healthcare, patents, and research asset losses.

Dr. Zetter has won numerous national and international awards for his work in the field of cancer research and has received three awards from students at Harvard Medical School for excellence in teaching, mentoring, and leadership.

He has published more that 150 research papers and given over 300 talks at universities, conferences and businesses. He has testified as an expert witness for the United States Senate Cancer Coalition hearings in Washington and accompanied a congressional delegation to examine biotechnology in Cuba. 

Prior to his work at Harvard, Dr. Zetter received a B.A. degree in Anthropology from Brandeis University and a Ph.D. from the University of Rhode Island in Kingston, RI.  He completed fellowships at MIT and at the Salk Institute. He currently conducts research at Boston Children’s Hospital where he has served in leadership positions as Vice President of Research and Chief Scientific Officer.